"Fantana nti kambouri di ntisoupra" or (City Hall Fountain)
The "Fantana nti kambouri di ntisoupra" is on Baron Michael Tositsas square on the upper side of the central square of Metsovo, next to the City Hall. The Vlach and older name means "fountain from the spring over the square" which accurately describes its location in the settlement.
The fountain is roofed and is stone built on all three sides. The water comes from a spring on the “Politsa” plateau and is delivered through brass faucets. The lateral and internal walls have stone benches. Above the water taps, there is a stone slab with an inscription, and on either side there are plaques with reliefs. The roof is covered with slate.
The mural inscription informs the visitors in archaic Greek that the fountain was built in 1858 through a donation by the “progeny of Metsovo” who had emigrated for the sake of "Profit Hermes" (meaning that they emigrated to make profit - Hermes being the ancient god of trade), but spare no sacrifices for their country, such as Kostas Fernikas in Moscow, and the emigrated sons of Kostas Potsou, Adamantios and John in the "country of the Dacians”. According to the same sign when the fountain was constructed the Commissioners (of the Church of Agia Paraskevi) were: Georgios Iatropoulos, Kyriakos Konstaki, Michail Louka and and Anastasios Varetasis.
Of special interest are the stone reliefs on either side of the inscription. The double-headed eagle symbolizes the Patriarchal Exarchate of Metsovo, ie the ecclesiastical status of Metsovo during the Ottoman period, while the horseback and armed men symbolically represent the corresponding political and privileged status of Metsovo in late Byzantine and Otthoman periods, which was due to horseback soldiers and guards of the crossing of Zygos and founders of Metsovo.