Monastery of the Assumption (Koimisis Theotokou), Metsovo

The Monastery of the Assumption is located on the eastern outskirts of Metsovo in the upper valley of the Metsovitikos River. It was built in 1754. The building complex consists of two-storey cells, hostels, and paved courtyards. The monastery is fully decorated with frescoes of the 17th century. The belfry is wooden from the middle of the building and upwards. According to oral tradition, the bell was manufactured in Ioannina in 1870.

The monastery celebrates annualy on the 15th of August .

On weekdays during the winter period the monastery is open to visitors from 12.00 to 15.00 and on Sundays from 14.00 to 18.00. From June to September it is open daily from 15.00 to 18.00 and on Sundays from 15.00 to 19.00